5 Comments
Aug 15, 2021Liked by Bruce Daisley

Having listened to the podcast now, I have a new best takeaway -" a championship team beats a team full of champions". I think the revelation that the book was written as "mission creep" from another book project may be why it didn't have much new in it. I loved what he said in the podcast about "you write what you don't already know" although I don't believe that this was the case here. But it's a nice idea nonetheless.

Expand full comment
Aug 15, 2021Liked by Bruce Daisley

I dragged myself through the Audible book on a long journey to pick up my son from camp.

The repeated clichés and awful accents were hard work and made me think there was little new. It wasn't clear what he was summarising was what he'd learnt the All Black use or just general culture twaddle he'd felt like summarising. Maybe it would have worked on paper, but in audio it was tedious.

Should have waiting for your summary, suspect what you've said above is enough. Just love the sweeping story. Says so much about culture. Think with such a strong begining the book should have just ended there.

Did you know that the paper he quotes on Integrity is from the Est / Landmark school (remember the cult I tried to enrol you - Bruce- in in the 90's?). That definition of Integrity is very interesting. Not a question of judgment, but a question of "workability". If you haven't read it, it's worth looking at. I'd value your view.

Re humility, an Asda manager I trained years back told a story of meeting Sam Walton ambushing him back of store when he was doing a work experience stint in the US at Walmart. Apparently he'd joined the delivery crew, unloaded the vans and then walked around chatting to staff getting a pulse. He did it regularly apparently. I had a trainer mentor who would clean the rooms we used in hotels / conference facilities in the same way as the staff before handing it back.

In the 1980's when my folks were in the Est self development movement I remember how when Werner came to Wembley after we were handed the Arena - having been cleaned by Wembley staff before we started using it we totally re-cleaned the whole place. Vacuumed the whole reception, all backstage. All about creating an impeccable space. In the green room they had a crushed velvet wall and sofas, and I went over every inch with parcel tape on my hands to remove any specks of dust. Funny though, Werner Erhard wasn't there helping the other volunteers get the Arena ready?

I'm looking forward to hearing how the new Spurs managers more humble approach will compare to the "special" approach that failed to garnish results.

Expand full comment
Aug 16, 2021Liked by Bruce Daisley

I work in retail and it's a big tradition that in the run-up to Christmas everyone has to do some shifts in stores - especially in the weeks before christmas. It's so common that a lot of the time no one even asks what your job in head office is, I've seen senior managers stacking shelves or on the till. As a way to remind people of what our teams do every day it brings a lot of the 'sweep the sheds' energy.

Expand full comment
Aug 15, 2021Liked by Bruce Daisley

I remember my first boss used to say "I'll never ask you to do something that I won't do" and used to help us carry boxes or fill bags. Always stuck with me - not just that he offered but that he always used to do it too

Expand full comment
Aug 15, 2021Liked by Bruce Daisley

I've worked in sales for a long-time. There's a big tradition in sales that the a manager will 'put something through' on expenses. The team goes out for big drinks after a good week, everyone debates how it can be claimed. The middle boss steps up and says 'I'll put it through, I'll say we were out with [name of a big supplier]'. While that might seem benign, what it does is it tells everyone 'there are some lies we have to tell to enjoy our life like this'. I've known sales people with desk drawers full of blank receipts, or grabbing a copy of the receipt after being out for drinks with friends so they can make more money out of it. Reading this book has made me wonder if all of those things don't destroy a culture from within.

Expand full comment